8 total views, 1 views today

Primavera P6 Exclusive Mode vs. Shared Mode

Primavera P6 Web allows the user can open the project in two ways. They are

  • Shared Mode
  • Exclusive Mode

In P6 Shared Mode, Multiple users can open and edit the project at the same time. This is the default mode to open a project in P6.

In P6 Exclusive Mode, Only one user can edit a project at a time. That means the user who opened the project in exclusive mode has the Edit privilege access. Other users can view the project and not allowed to edit it includes scheduling.

 

How to Open a Project in Shared Mode in P6 Web

 

1. Login into P6 Web, go to the EPS tab, Right-click on a project and select Open Project

 

030617_0116_PrimaveraP61 Primavera P6 Exclusive mode vs Shared mode

 

2. To close the Project:

  • Right click on the project that you opened,  Select Close (Or)
  • Log out from P6

 

How to Open a Project in Exclusive Mode

 

1. Login into P6 Web, go to the EPS tab, Select the Project, Select the drop down Open and select Open Exclusively

 

Note: The user must have ‘Check In/Check Out Projects and Open Project Exclusively’ project privilege access  to open a Project exclusively

 

030617_0116_PrimaveraP62 Primavera P6 Exclusive mode vs Shared mode

 

2. A LOCK ICON appears on the project indicates the project is opened Exclusively. Closing the Exclusively opened project is same as shared. 

 

030617_0116_PrimaveraP63 Primavera P6 Exclusive mode vs Shared mode

 

For example, User A opened a project exclusively. Now no other users can edit the project through any of the following ways

 

1. P6 EPPM ( Web )

2. P6 Professional for EPPM ( Desktop Client )

3. P6 API ( Java Client )

4. P6 Web Service ( Soap Client )

 

Technical: How Primavera P6 handles the two modes at the back end

 

Let say; A user opens a project in whatever mode in P6 web. A record gets inserted into ADMUSER.PROJSHAR table. The column ACCESS_LEVEL tells on which mode the project is opened.

 

If the ACCESS_LEVEL=2 indicates the project is opened in Exclusive Mode

If the ACCESS_LEVEL=0 indicates the project is opened in shared mode

 

An example Screen that shows a project opened in P6 Exclusive Mode

 

030617_0116_PrimaveraP64 Primavera P6 Exclusive mode vs Shared mode

 

That’s all about P6 Exclusive Mode and P6 Shared Mode. If you have any questions please share a comment below 🙂 

govindan Primavera P6 Exclusive mode vs Shared mode
Connect me

Govind

Thank you for visiting my personal blog. Myself Govindan, Software Developer by profession since 2006 and hence I started this blog early in 2016 and ever since I've been writing about technologies experienced and learnings of everyday life.

The views expressed on this blog are my personal views and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.

Please feeling free to reach me on any comments and feedbacks you have. Would be more than glad to listen and reply 🙂
govindan Primavera P6 Exclusive mode vs Shared mode
Connect me
By | 2017-03-05T21:28:20+00:00 March 5th, 2017|Categories: P6|Tags: , , |0 Comments
Like us on Facebook.
Connect!